Canada Basketball announced Wednesday the 19 players invited to attend training camp at Humber College from May 23-June 3, 2022 ahead of the FIBA U18 Men’s Americas Championship 2022.

The FIBA U18 Men’s Americas Championship 2022 will be held June 6-12, 2022 at the Zonkeys Auditorium in Tijuana, Mexico and fans can catch all the action streaming live on Sportsnet Now.

Head Coach Patrick Tatham will lead Canada alongside assistant coaches Shawn Swords and Justin Serresse, who coached alongside him at the FIBA U19 Basketball World Cup 2021, as well as a new addition to the staff, Nathan Grant.

“We’re excited to welcome 19 athletes from across the country to Toronto next week to compete for one of the twelve final spots on our team,” said Tatham.  “This training camp will be yet another important step in our journey together as a team as we continue to work together to achieve our goal to win while developing these young men.”

“To be selected to represent your country on the international stage is one of the greatest honours in sport and after a four year hiatus for the U18 age-group due to COVID, we’re looking forward to getting back on the court as we pursue a place on the podium and a berth in the FIBA U19 Basketball World Cup 2023.”

Canada is in Group A along with the hosts Mexico (June 6, time TBD), Argentina (June 7, time TBD) and Brazil (June 8, time TBD).

The top four teams from the FIBA U18 Americas Championship will qualify for the FIBA U19 Basketball World Cup 2023.

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, this will be the first FIBA U18 Men’s Americas Championship since Canada hosted the event in 2018 in St. Catharines and captured silver.

Players selected to attend training camp attended a Canada Basketball Men’s High Performance National Team Age-Group Assessment Camp last month.

Canada is currently ranked 4th overall in the FIBA men’s age-group rankings, presented by Nike.


Vasean Allette

Brendan Amoyaw

Matai Baptiste

Bubu Benjamin

Jordann Dumont

Michael Evbagharu

Elijah Fisher

Dylan Grant

TJ Hurley

KC Ibekwe

Marquese Josephs

Braeden MacVicar

Mathieu Nader-Kolombo

Thomas Ndong

Michael Nwoko

Dante Oliver

David Simon

Koat Thomas

Mikkel Tyne












Leave a Reply